Apple’s renewable-energy claims cover two different things, and the company’s own numbers keep them apart. One set of figures describes electricity Apple procures for its own operations. A second, larger set describes the manufacturing supply chain that builds its products, run through a separate program with its own suppliers. Apple’s April 2026 environmental progress report lists both, and neither stands in for the other.

Key facts
| Figure | What Apple publishes |
|---|---|
| Apple’s own operations, 2025 | 1.8 gigawatts of additional renewable energy procured |
| Manufacturers committed to 100% clean energy by 2030 | More than 300 |
| Renewable energy procured by direct suppliers | More than 20 gigawatts |
| Supplier Clean Energy Program output, 2025 | More than 38 million megawatt-hours |
| Apple’s own comparison | Enough to power 3.4 million U.S. households for a year |

One number belongs to Apple’s own operations
Apple states that it procured 1.8 gigawatts of additional renewable energy for its own operations in 2025. Apple does not break this figure down by facility type, such as retail stores, offices or data centers, in the material reviewed here, and it does not state what share of its total operational electricity that 1.8 gigawatts represents.
A separate, larger set of numbers belongs to manufacturing
Apple’s Supplier Clean Energy Program is aimed at the companies that manufacture its products, not at Apple’s own facilities. Apple states that more than 300 manufacturers have committed to 100 percent clean energy for their Apple production by 2030, that direct suppliers have procured more than 20 gigawatts of renewable energy, and that the program generated more than 38 million megawatt-hours in 2025, a figure Apple itself compares to powering 3.4 million U.S. households for a year.
Don’t miss the best of The Mac Observer
Set us as a preferred source and our Apple reporting ranks higher in your Google Search results and Discover feed — one tap, no account changes.
The supplier figure has a documented history
Apple has been building the supplier side of this claim for several years, and it has published the growth in stages rather than as a single static number. A 2023 Newsroom release covered Apple advancing its supplier clean-energy commitments, before the count of participating manufacturers reached the more-than-300 figure the 2026 report now states. Apple has not published a year-by-year table showing how the manufacturer count, the gigawatts procured, or the megawatt-hours generated moved between those releases, so a reader can compare the endpoints in 2023 and 2026 but not the path between them.
The same pattern holds for Apple’s own operations. The 1.8 gigawatt figure for 2025 is presented as additional capacity procured that year, not as a running total built up since the company’s 2020 pledge. Apple has not published what its cumulative renewable capacity for its own operations amounts to after adding each year’s additional procurement together, only the latest year’s addition on its own.
Where the two scopes get confused
The distinction matters because manufacturing electricity for Apple’s individual products is reported separately again. iPhone 18 Pro, iPhone Duo, Apple Watch Series 12, Apple Watch Ultra 4 and AirPods 5 each have their own Product Environmental Report, and each states a manufacturing-electricity figure for that device alone, published only in that product’s own PDF rather than on any specs page. Those per-product figures describe a single device’s assembly, not the company-wide supplier program above, and Apple has not published a formula for how one relates to the other.
| Scope | What it covers |
|---|---|
| Apple’s own operations | 1.8 GW additional renewable energy, 2025 |
| Supplier Clean Energy Program (manufacturing) | 300+ manufacturers committed to 2030, 20+ GW procured, 38M+ MWh generated in 2025 |
| A single product’s manufacturing electricity | Reported per device, in that device’s own Product Environmental Report PDF only |
What Apple has not said
Apple has not published a combined renewable-energy percentage that adds its own operations to its supply chain, and it has not stated what share of total supply-chain electricity remains non-renewable today against the 2030 clean-energy commitment. It has not set an interim target between now and 2030 for either figure. Apple’s next update to these numbers will most likely arrive with its next annual environmental progress report; as of September 12, 2026, no date for that report has been announced.